skip to main content

Green Section Award

In establishing the Green Section Award, the USGA wishes to honor those persons deserving special recognition for distinguished service to golf through work with turfgrass. Such persons may be involved in any phase of work with turfgrass, i.e., research, extension, superintendence, maintenance, etc.

The USGA believes that there are many such persons who have brought the game immeasurable contributions respecting the arena upon which the game is played. Their contributions and service may be evidenced by their achievements over a number of years or by a single act.

In continuing to present the Green Section Award, the USGA wishes to identify, celebrate and hold up for emulation individuals who exemplify outstanding contribution and dedication to the game of golf through their work with turfgrass. The award is given every year.


Green Section Award Winners
Year Honoree
2020 Dr. William Meyer
2019 Michael T. Huck                 (Video)
2018 Tim Hiers, CGCS                
2017 Dr. Norman W. Hummel    (Video)
2016 Dr. Bruce Clarke                (Video)
2015 Dr. Pat Vittum                   (Video)
2014 Dr. Peter Dernoeden            (Video)
2013  Dr. Victor Gibeault
2012 Wayne Hanna
2011 Dennis Lyon
2010 Dan Potter
2009 Terry Bonar
2008 Ted Horton
2007 Dr. Joseph M. Vargas
2006 Dr. Robert C. Shearman
2005 Peter O. Cookingham
2004 Monroe S. Miller
2003 Dr. Houston Couch
2002 George B. Thompson
2001 Dr. Patricia M. Cobb
2000 L. Palmer Maples, Jr.
1999 Dr. Noel Jackson
1998 B.J. Johnson
1997 Dr. Paul E. Rieke
1996 Robert M. Williams
1995 David C. Stone
1994 Dr. Kenyon T. Payne
1993 Dr. Ralph E. Engel
1992 Dr. Richard Skogley
1991 Dr. Joseph C. Troll
1990 Chester Mendenhall
1989 Dr. James B. Beard
1988 Dr. Roy L. Goss
1987 Sherwood A. Moore
1986 James B. 'Monty' Montcrief
1985 Dr. Victor B. Youngner
1984 Dr. William H. Daniel
1983 Alexander M. Radko
1982 Charles G. Wilson
1981 Dr. Joseph M. Duich
1980 Dr. C. Reed Funk
1979 Arthur A. Snyder
1978 Dr. Jess de France
1977 Edward J. Casey
1976 Dr. James R. Watson
1975 Dr. Fanny-Fern Davis
1974 Dr. Howard B. Sprague
1973 Dr. Marvin H. Ferguson
1972 Herb and Joe Graffis
1971 Tom Mascaro
1970 Eberhand R. Steiniger
1969 Dr. Fred V. Grau
1968 James L. Haines
1967 Elmer J. Michael
1966 Dr. H. Burton Musser
1965 Dr. Glenn W. Burton
1964 Joseph Valentine
1963 O.J. Noer
1962 Dr. Lawrence S. Dickinson
1961 Dr. John Monteith, Jr.