skip to main content

97 Players Exempt Among More Than 1,700 Entries May 17, 2017 | Far Hills, N.J.

Lexi Thompson hopes to add a U.S. Women's Open title to the U.S. Girls' Junior one she claimed in 2008. (USGA/Steven Gibbons) 

Ticket information

A total of 1,709 entries have been accepted for the 72nd U.S. Women’s Open Championship, which will be conducted July 13-16, 2017, at Trump National Golf Club in Bedminster, N.J. It will be the seventh U.S. Women’s Open contested in New Jersey, and the first in 30 years.

This marks the fourth consecutive year the U.S. Women’s Open has received more than 1,700 entries. The 2015 championship at Lancaster (Pa.) Country Club holds the entry record with 1,873. Ten U.S. Women’s Open champions are among the 97 players who are currently fully exempt into the championship.

“In what has become a hallmark of this championship, we are excited to see such a strong group of entrants from around the world for the 72nd U.S. Women’s Open Championship,” said Stuart Francis, chairman of the USGA Championship Committee. “We also look forward to welcoming the U.S. Women’s Open back to New Jersey for the first time since Laura Davies of England captured the 1987 championship at Plainfield Country Club.”

The USGA accepted entries for the 72nd U.S. Women’s Open from golfers in 47 states (all except Alaska, West Virginia and Wyoming) and 51 countries in total.

To be eligible for the U.S. Women’s Open, a player must have a Handicap Index® not exceeding 2.4, or be a professional. Sectional qualifying will be conducted over 36 holes between May 22 and June 12. Qualifying will be held at 21 sites in the United States, as well as four international sites: one each in England, Japan, the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of Korea.

Brittany Lang, of McKinney, Texas, who won the 2016 U.S. Women’s Open at CordeValle in San Martin, Calif., is one of 10 fully exempt U.S. Women’s Open champions. Lang is joined by Na Yeon Choi (2012), In Gee Chun (2015), Paula Creamer (2010), Eun-Hee Ji (2009), Cristie Kerr (2007), Inbee Park (2008, 2013), So Yeon Ryu (2011), Karrie Webb (2000, 2001) and Michelle Wie (2014).

This will be the third USGA championship conducted at Trump National in Bedminster. The club previously hosted the 2009 U.S. Girls’ Junior, won by Amy Anderson, who now competes on the LPGA Tour and will attempt to qualify for the U.S. Women’s Open at the Frankfort, Ill., qualifying site on June 12. It also hosted the 2009 U.S. Junior Amateur, won by 2015 U.S. Open and Masters champion Jordan Spieth.

The championship's youngest entrant is 10-year-old Avery Zweig, of McKinney, Texas. She will attempt to qualify at the sectional qualifying site in Prior Lake, Minn., on May 31. Debby Pinnell is the championship's oldest entrant at age 66.


Justine Dreher, a Ladies European Tour player from France, was the first applicant when entries opened on March 8. The final championship application came from Laurie Rinker, 54, of Stuart, Fla. Rinker, the 1980 U.S. Girls’ Junior champion who won the LPGA Teaching & Club Professionals Championship in 2015, filed her entry 11 minutes before the 5 p.m. EDT deadline on May 17.

Players still have several opportunities to gain a full exemption into the U.S. Women’s Open. The winner of the 2017 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship and any other LPGA co-sponsored events prior to the start of the U.S. Women’s Open, as well as the winner of the 2017 Ladies British Open Amateur Championship, will earn exemptions into the championship field. Additionally, any player in the top 50 point leaders and ties from the Rolex Rankings as of July 9 not already exempt will be added to the field.

The following 97 golfers are fully exempt into the 2017 U.S. Women’s Open (as of May 18):


Marina Alex Beth Allen Aditi Ashok
Seon Woo Bae Isabelle Boineau Katie Burnett
a-Virginia Elena Carta Chella Choi Na Yeon Choi
In Gee Chun Carlota Ciganda Jacqui Concolino
Paula Creamer Austin Ernst Jodi Ewart Shadoff
Shanshan Feng Sandra Gal Georgia Hall
Brooke Henderson Charley Hull Mi Jung Hur
Karine Icher Ha Na Jang Su-Yeon Jang
Eun-Hee Ji Ariya Jutanugarn Moriya Jutanugarn
Danielle Kang Kim Kaufman Cristie Kerr
Megan Khang Christina Kim Ha-Neul Kim
Hyo Joo Kim I.K. Kim Min Suh Kim
Sei Young Kim Jin Young Ko Lydia Ko
Jessica Korda Candie Kung Brittany Lang
Alison Lee Jeong Eun Lee Mi Hyang Lee
Minjee Lee Min-Young Lee Mirim Lee
Seung Hyun Lee Stacy Lewis Xiyu Lin
Brittany Lincicome Pernilla Lindberg Gaby Lopez
a-Leona Maguire Mo Martin Caroline Masson
Catriona Matthew Ai Miyazato Mika Miyazato
Azahara Munoz Haru Nomura Anna Nordqvist
Si-Hyun Oh Ryann O'Toole Lee-Anne Pace
Hee Young Park Inbee Park Sung Hyun Park
Florentyna Parker Suzann Pettersen Pornanong Phatlum
Gerina Piller Morgan Pressel Beatriz Recari
Paula Reto So Yeon Ryu Lizette Salas
Supamas Sangchan a-Eun Jeong Seong Alena Sharp
Jenny Shin Jiyai Shin Kelly Shon
Sarah Jane Smith Jennifer Song Angela Stanford
Al Suzuki Kris Tamulis Lexi Thompson
Mariajo Uribe Karrie Webb Michelle Wie
Jing Yan Amy Yang Sakura Yokomine
Weiwei Zhang    

Bold: U.S. Women's Open champion
a: amateur