skip to main content

USGA Herbert Warren Wind Book Award Winners

2018: Donald Steel, Par Excellence: The Biography of Sir Michael Bonallack, OBE

2017: Lane Demas, Game of Privilege: An African-American History of Golf

2016: Kevin Robbins, Harvey Penick: The Life and Wisdom of the Man Who Wrote the Book on Golf; Peter N. Lewis, Why Are There Eighteen Holes?: St Andrews and the Evolution of Golf Courses 1764-1890

2015: Roger McStravick, St. Andrews: In the Footsteps of Old Tom Morris

2014: James Hansen, A Difficult Par: Robert Trent Jones Sr. and the Making of Modern Golf

2013: Jeff Silverman, Merion: The Championship Story

2012: James Dodson, American Triumvirate: Sam Snead, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, and The Modern Age of Golf

2011: Don Van Natta, Jr., Wonder Girl: The Magnificent Sporting Life of Babe Didrikson Zaharias

2010: David Barrett, Miracle at Merion: The Inspiring Story of Ben Hogan’s Amazing Comeback and Victory at the 1950 U.S. Open

2009: John de St. Jorre, The Story of Golf at The Country Club

2008: David Malcolm & Peter E. Crabtree, Tom Morris of St. Andrews: The Colossus of Golf 1821-1908

2007: Kevin Cook, Tommy’s Honor

2006: James Finegan, Where Golf Is Great

2005: John Strege, When War Played Through

2004: James Dodson, Ben Hogan, An American Life

2003: Phil Pilley, Heather and Heaven

2002: Mark Frost, The Greatest Game Ever Played

2001: Bradley S. Klein, Discovering Donald Ross: The Architect and His Golf Courses

2000: Stephen Lowe, Sir Walter and Mr. Jones

1999: David Owen, The Making of the Masters

1998: Lawrence Donegan, Maybe It Should Have Been a Three-Iron

1997: Davis Love III, Every Shot I Take

1992: Rhonda Glenn, The Illustrated History of Women’s Golf

1991: Bobby Burnet, The St. Andrews Opens

1990: Robert Trent Jones Sr. with Larry Dennis, Golf’s Magnificent Challenge

1989: Phil Pilley, Golfing Art 

1987: Al Barkow, Getting to the Dance Floor

No award was given in 1988 or from 1993-1996.