skip to main content

Rules of Handicapping FAQs

Handicap Index Calculation 101

Q. I always play the same tees at the same course. Is my Handicap Index "established" from that set?

A. No. Every time a score is posted, it is converted into a Score Differential that evaluates your performance as if it were made on a course of standard difficulty. As a result, your Handicap Index is a portable number and, each time you play, it’s converted into a Playing Handicap as if you are playing that course for the very first time. (Rule 5, Rules of Handicapping)