skip to main content

U.S. Senior Women's Open History

Results  I  Records  I  Last Time it Happened  I  Special Exemptions

The U.S. Senior Women's Open was established in 2018, 38 years after the inaugural U.S. Senior Open was first contested. Chicago Golf Club in Wheaton, Ill., one of the five founding clubs of the USGA, hosted the inaugural championship. The field of 120 players included some of the game's greatest players, including eight-time USGA champion JoAnne Carner, six-time USGA champion Hollis Stacy, five-time USGA champion Juli Inkster and the eventual champion Laura Davies, of England, winner of the 1987 U.S. Women's Open.

The field also featured a bevy of amateur golfers with plenty of USGA pedigree, including seven-time champion Ellen Port, 2017 U.S. Senior Women's Amateur champion Judith Kyrinis, inaugural U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur champion Cindy McConnell (1987) and 2009 U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur champion Martha Leach, who took home low-amateur honors while tying for 10th.

The competition, for females 50 and older, is open to any professional or amateur whose Handicap Index does not exceed 7.4.


U.S. Senior Women's Open Champions (2018-Present)

2018: Laura Davies, 276 (-16); Juli Inkster, 286; Chicago Golf Club, Wheaton, Ill.; Entries: §462

2019: Helen Alfredsson, 285 (+1); Juli Inkster, Trish Johnson, 287; Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club, Southern Pines, N.C.; Entries: 352

2020: Championship canceled due to COVID-19 pandemic

2021: Annika Sorenstam, 276 (-12); Liselotte Neumann, 284; Brooklawn Country Club, Fairfield, Conn.; Entries: 390

2022: Jill McGill, 289 (-3); Leta Lindley, 290; NCR Country Club (South Course), Kettering, Ohio; Entries: 377

2023: Trish Johnson, 284 (-4); Leta Lindley, 285; Waverley Country Club, Portland, Ore.; Entries: 412

• Record score (2018, 2021)

§ Record entry (2018)