skip to main content


Oakland Hills to Host 2 U.S. Opens, 4 USGA Amateur Events

By Julia Pine, USGA

| Mar 22, 2022 | Liberty Corner, N.J.

The U.S. Open is returning to historic Oakland Hills C.C. for a seventh time in 2034. The club will also host the event in 2051. (LC Lambrecht)

Historic Oakland Hills Country Club, in Bloomfield Hills, Mich., has been selected as the host site for the 2034 and 2051 U.S. Open Championships as well as four additional prestigious USGA amateur championships, starting in 2024. Oakmont (Pa.) Country Club, which had previously been scheduled to host the 2034 U.S. Open, will host instead in 2033.

“We could not be happier to bring six additional championships to such an iconic venue as Oakland Hills,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA chief championships officer. “Since its first U.S. Open in 1924, Oakland Hills has provided a supreme test for the game’s very best, and it will continue to do so for professionals and amateurs alike in the coming years.”

Adding to the two U.S. Opens and the two U.S. Women’s Opens in 2031 and 2042 announced in January, Oakland Hills’ South Course will host the 2024 U.S. Junior Amateur (July 22-27), 2029 U.S. Women’s Amateur, 2038 U.S. Girls’ Junior and 2047 U.S. Amateur. The dates of the latter three championships are to be determined. The club is set to host a total of eight USGA championships between 2024 and 2051. It will become the fifth club to have hosted a U.S. Open, U.S. Women’s Open, U.S. Amateur and U.S. Women’s Amateur, with Pebble Beach set to join those ranks when it hosts the U.S. Women’s Open in 2023.

“This is a significant and meaningful day for all of us at Oakland Hills,” said Rick Palmer, club president. “The commitment of two U.S. Opens as well as four top amateur championships is a testament to the fabulous work of everyone at Oakland Hills. With a total of eight USGA championships coming to our club starting in 2024, we can’t wait to add to our storied history. We look forward to continuing our championship golf tradition at Oakland Hills and our long-standing relationship with the USGA.”

The South Course at Oakland Hills, also known as “The Monster,” was designed by Donald Ross and opened in 1918. It was renovated by Robert Trent Jones Sr. (1950), Rees Jones (2006) and Gil Hanse (2021). The most recent restoration, which aimed to return the property to its original early 1900s layout, included tree removal throughout the property and the reshaping of all 18 greens to their original specifications.

The club has played host to 11 USGA championships in its 104-year history, including six U.S. Opens, two U.S. Senior Opens, two U.S. Amateurs and a U.S. Women’s Amateur. In addition, Oakland Hills has also hosted three PGA Championships and the 2004 Ryder Cup.

The 2034 U.S. Open will take place 110 years after the first U.S. Open at Oakland Hills in 1924, when Cyril Walker prevailed over defending champion Bob Jones by 3 strokes. Ralph Guldahl won the first of his two consecutive U.S. Opens in 1937. In 1951, Ben Hogan won his third U.S. Open in four years, saying it was the “toughest 18 holes I’ve ever seen.” The 1961 edition saw Gene Littler capture his only major title and Jack Nicklaus earn low-amateur honors at age 21. In 1985, Andy North claimed his second U.S. Open, and in 1996, Steve Jones became the first U.S. Open champion to go through final qualifying since Jerry Pate in 1976.

Nicklaus would go on to claim a USGA title at Oakland Hills in 1991, when he won the U.S. Senior Open. Glenna Collett Vare (1929 U.S. Women’s Amateur) and Arnold Palmer (1981 U.S. Senior Open) are also among the legendary champions to hoist a USGA trophy at Oakland Hills.

To date, Michigan has been home to 33 USGA championships across 16 host sites.

2024 U.S. Junior Amateur
2029 U.S. Women's Amateur
2031 U.S. Women's Open
2034 U.S. Open
2038  U.S. Girls' Junior
2042 U.S. Women's Open
2047 U.S. Amateur
2051 U.S. Open