Rule 10 - Preparing for and Making a Stroke; Advice and Help; Caddies

10.1  Making a Stroke

10.1a/1 – Examples of Pushing, Scraping or Scooping

These terms have overlapping meanings but can be defined through these three examples of using the club in a manner not allowed by the Rule:

10.1a/2 – Player May Use Any Part of Clubhead to Fairly Strike Ball

In fairly striking a ball, any part of the clubhead may be used, including the toe, heel and back of the clubhead.

10.1a/3 – Other Material May Intervene Between Ball and Clubhead During Stroke

In fairly striking a ball, it is not necessary for the clubhead to make contact with the ball. Sometimes other material may intervene.

An example of fairly striking a ball includes when a ball is lying against the base of a fence defining out of boundsOut of Bounds: All areas outside the boundary edge of the course as defined by the Committee. All areas inside that edge are in bounds.(...Continued) and the player makes a stroke at the out-of-boundsOut of Bounds: All areas outside the boundary edge of the course as defined by the Committee. All areas inside that edge are in bounds.(...Continued) side of the fence to make the ball moveMoved: When a ball at rest has left its original spot and come to rest on any other spot, and this can be seen by the naked eye (whether or not anyone actually sees it do so).(...Continued).

10.1b/1 – Player Must Not Anchor the Club with Forearm Against Body

Holding a forearm against the body during a strokeStroke: The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.(...Continued) is an indirect means of anchoring the club.

For an “anchor point” to exist, two things must happen: (1) the player must hold a forearm against the body; and (2) the player must grip the club so that the hands are separated and work independently from each other.

For example, in making a strokeStroke: The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.(...Continued) with a long putter, the player’s forearm is held against his or her body to establish a stable point, while the bottom hand is held down the shaft to swing the lower portion of the club.

However, a player is allowed to hold one or both forearms against his or her body in making a strokeStroke: The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.(...Continued), so long as doing so does not create an anchor point.

10.1b/2 – Deliberate Contact with Clothing During Stroke Is a Breach

Clothing held against the body by a club or gripping hand is treated as if it is part of the player’s body for the purpose of applying Rule 10.1b. The concept of a free-flowing swing may not be circumvented by having something intervene between the player’s body and club or hand.

For example, if a player is wearing a rain jacket and is using a mid-length  putter, and presses the club into his or her body, the player is in breach of Rule 10.1b.

Additionally, if the player deliberately uses a gripping hand to hold an article of clothing worn on any part of the body (such as holding the sleeve of a shirt with a hand) while making a strokeStroke: The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.(...Continued), there is a breach of Rule 4.3 (Prohibited Use of Equipment) since that is not its intended use and doing so might assist the player in making that strokeStroke: The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.(...Continued).

10.1b/3 – Inadvertent Contact with Clothing During Stroke Is Not a Breach

Touching an article of clothing with the club or gripping hand and making a strokeStroke: The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.(...Continued) is allowed.

This might occur in various situations where a player:

10.2  Advice and Other Help

10.2a/1 – Player May Get Information from Shared Caddie

If a caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued) is being shared by more than one player, any of the players sharing that caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued) may seek information from him or her.

For example, two players are sharing a caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued) and both hit tee shots into a similar area. One of the players gets a club to make the strokeStroke: The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.(...Continued), while the other is undecided. The undecided player is allowed to ask the shared caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued) what club the other player chose.

10.2a/2 – Player Must Try to Stop Ongoing Advice That Is Given Voluntarily

If a player gets adviceAdvice: Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:(...Continued) from someone other than his or her caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued) (such as a spectator) without asking for it, he or she gets no penalty. However, if the player continues to get adviceAdvice: Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:(...Continued) from that same person, the player must try to stop that person from giving adviceAdvice: Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:(...Continued). If the player does not do so, he or she is treated as asking for that adviceAdvice: Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:(...Continued) and gets the penalty under Rule 10.2a.

In a team competition (Rule 24), this also applies to a player who gets adviceAdvice: Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:(...Continued) from a team captain who has not been named an advice giver.

10.2b(3)/1 – Setting Clubhead on Ground Behind Ball to Help the Player Take a Stance is Allowed

Rule 10.2b(3) does not allow a player to set down an object (such as an alignment rod or a golf club) to help the player take a stanceStance: The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke..

However, this prohibition does not prevent a player from setting his or her clubhead behind the ball, such as when a player stands behind the ball and places the clubhead perpendicular to the line of playLine of Play: The line where the player intends his or her ball to go after a stroke, including the area on that line that is a reasonable distance up above the ground and on either side of that line.(...Continued) and then walks around from behind the ball to take his or her stanceStance: The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke..

10.2b(4)/1 – Examples of When Player Begins Taking His or Her Stance

Rule 10.2b(4) does not allow a player to have his or her caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued) deliberately stand behind him or her when the player begins taking a stanceStance: The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke. because aiming at the intended target is one of the challenges the player must overcome alone.

There is no set procedure for determining when a player has begun to take a stanceStance: The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke. since each player has his or her own set-up routine. However, if a player has his or her feet or body close to a position where useful guidance on aiming at the intended target could be given, it should be decided that the player has begun to take his or her stanceStance: The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke..

Examples of when a player has begun to take a stanceStance: The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke. include when:

[Clarification Available →]

10.2b(5)/1 – Player May Ask Another Person Who Was Not Deliberately Positioned to Move or Remain in Place

Although a player may not place an object or position a person for the purpose of blocking the sunlight from the ball, the player may ask a person (such as a spectator) not to move when that spectator is already in position, so that a shadow remains over the ball, or may ask that spectator to move, so that his or her shadow is no longer over the ball.

10.2b(5)/2 – Player May Wear Protective Clothing

Although a player must not improveImprove: To alter one or more of the conditions affecting the stroke or other physical conditions affecting play so that a player gains a potential advantage for a stroke. conditions affecting the strokeConditions Affecting the Stroke: The lie of the player’s ball at rest, the area of intended stance, the area of intended swing, the line of play and the relief area where the player will drop or place a ball. to protect against the elements, he or she may wear protective clothing to protect against the elements.

For example, if a player’s ball comes to rest right next to a cactus, it would breach Rule 8.1a (Actions That Improve Conditions Affecting the Stroke) if he or she placed a towel on the cactus to improveImprove: To alter one or more of the conditions affecting the stroke or other physical conditions affecting play so that a player gains a potential advantage for a stroke. his or her area of intended stanceStance: The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke.. However, a towel may be wrapped around the player’s body to protect him or her from the cactus.

10.3 Caddies

10.3a/1 – Player Transports Clubs on Motorized Golf Cart and Hires Individual to Perform All Other Functions of a Caddie

A player whose clubs are transported on a motorized golf cart that he or she is driving is allowed to hire an individual to perform all the other duties of a caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued), and this individual is considered to be a caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued).

This arrangement is allowed provided the player has not also hired someone else to drive the cart. In such a case, the cart driver is also a caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued) since he is transporting the player’s clubs, and the player gets a penalty under Rule 10.3a(1) for having more than one caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued).

10.3a/2 – Player May Caddie for Another Player When Not Playing a Round

A player in a competition may caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued) for another player in the same competition, except when the player is playing his or her roundRound: 18 or fewer holes played in the order set by the Committee. or when a Local Rule restricts the player from being a caddieCaddie: Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:(...Continued).

For example: