Anchoring: Understanding Rule 14-1b
Rule 14-1b Archives
Official Announcement
The USGA and The R&A announced their approval of the adoption of Rule 14-1b, which will ban the use of anchored strokes, on May 20, 2013. You can read the full announcement here.
Guidance For Players and Officials
The USGA and The R&A released a joint statement that further explained the basis of the prohibition on anchoring the club when making a stroke.
Rule 14-1b: Full Explanation
Read the report from the USGA and R&A that fully lays out the decision to implement the ban on anchored strokes.