skip to main content

2023 Walker Cup Fast FactsSt. Andrews (Old Course), Scotland


The USA has won three consecutive Walker Cup Matches, including 2021 at Seminole in Juno Beach, Fla.. (USGA/Chris Keane)

Championship Venue Old Course at St. Andrews, Scotland
Opened 15th Century
Architect Original architect unknown (renovations by Daw Anderson in 1850s; Old Tom Morris 1865-1908)
Dates of Competition Sept. 2-3
Yardage/Par 7,297 yards/Par 72 (Subject to Change)
Course/Slope Rating 73.1/132
Social Media @walkercup (Twitter)
@thewalkercup (Instagram)
The Walker Cup (Facebook)
Tickets TBD.
Make Up of Teams 10 male amateurs from the USA vs. team from Great Britain & Ireland
Team Selection The USGA selects the USA team, while The R&A chooses the GB&I side.
Series Record USA leads 38-9-1
Captains Michael McCoy (USA)
Stuard Wilson (GB&I)
Format Each of the two competition days features foursomes (alternate-shot) matches in the morning followed by singles matches in the afternoon. On Saturday, there are eight singles matches, while all 10 players from each side compete in singles on Sunday. One full point is awarded for each victory, while a half-point is earned for matches that are all square after 18 holes. The USA needs 13 points to retain the Cup, while GB&I requires 13.5 points to reclaim it.
2021 Match The USA earned its third consecutive victory in the biennial competition, 14-12, at Seminole Golf Club in Juno Beach, Fla. University of Florida All-American and Southern California native Ricky Castillo was the only player on either side to post a 4-0 record in the two-day event. To read more, click here.
Notable events on the Old Course at St. Andrews 1873 Open Championship (Tom Kidd)
1876 Open Championship (Bob Martin)
1879 Open Championship (James Anderson)
1882 Open Championship (Bob Ferguson)
1885 Open Championship (Bob Martin)
1886 Amateur Championship (Horace Hutchinson)
1888 Open Championship (Jack Burns)
1889 Amateur Championship (Johnny Laidlay)
1891 Open Championship (Hugh Kirkaldy)
1891 Amateur Championship (Johnny Laidlay)
1895 Open Championship (J.H. Taylor)
1895 Amateur Championship (Leslie Balfour-Melville)
1900 Open Championship (J.H. Taylor)
1901 Amateur Championship (Harold Hilton)
1905 Open Championship (James Braid)
1907 Amateur Champioship (John Ball)
1910 Open Championship (James Braid)
1913 Amateur Championship (Harold Hilton)
1921 Open Championship (Jock Hutchison)
1923 Walker Cup Match (USA)
1924 Amateur Championship (Ernest Holderness)
1926 Walker Cup Match (USA)
1927 Open Championship (Bob Jones)
1929 Women's British Amateur (Joyce Wethered)
1930 Amateur Championship (Bob Jones)
1933 Open Championship (Denny Shute)
1934 Walker Cup Match (USA)
1936 Amateur Championship (Hector Thomson)
1938 Walker Cup Match (GB&I)
1939 Open Championship (Dick Burton)
1946 Open Championship (Sam Snead)
1947 Walker Cup Match (USA)
1950 Amateur Championship (Frank Stranahan)
1955 Open Championship (Peter Thomson)
1955 Walker Cup Match (USA)
1957 Open Championship (Bobby Locke)
1958 Amateur Championship (Joe Carr)
1960 Open Championship (Kel Nagle)
1963 Amateur Championship (Michael Lunt)
1964 Open Championship (Tony Lema)
1965 Women's British Amateur (Brigitte Varangot)
1970 Open Championship (Jack Nicklaus)
1971 Walker Cup Match (GB&I)
1975 Women's British Amateur (Nancy Roth Syms)
1975 Walker Cup Match (USA)
1976 Amateur Championship (Dick Siderowf)
1978 Open Championship (Jack Nicklaus)
1981 Amateur Championship (Phillipe Proujoux)
1984 Open Championship (Seve Ballesteros)
1990 Open Championship (Nick Faldo)
1995 Open Championship (John Daly)
2000 Open Championship (Tiger Woods)
2004 Amateur Championship (Stuart Wilson)
2005 Open Championship (Tiger Woods)
2007 AIG Women's British Open (Lorena Ochoa)
2008 Curtis Cup Match (USA)
2010 Open Championship (Louis Oosthuizen)
2013 AIG Women's British Open (Stacy Lewis)
2015 Open Championship (Zach Johnson)
2022 Open Championship (Cameron Smith)
Notable USA Walker Cup Competitors Bob Jones; Francis Ouimet; Charles "Chick" Evans; William C. Campbell; Jack Nicklaus; Lanny Wadkins; Tom Kite; Curtis Strange; Jay Sigel; Hal Sutton; Corey Pavin; Davis Love III; Phil Mickelson; David Duval; Tiger Woods; Ryan Moore; Bill Haas; Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson; Webb Simpson; Jordan Spieth; Justin Thomas; Bryson DeChambeau; Collin Morikawa  
Notable GB&I Walker Cup Competitors Roger Wethered; Joseph Carr; Cyril Tolley; Michael Bonallack; Peter Oosterhuis; Mark James; Peter McEvoy; Colin Montgomerie; Padraig Harrington; Justin Rose; Gary Wolstenholme; Paul Casey; Luke Donald; Graeme McDowell; Nigel Edwards; Tommy Fleetwood; Rory McIlroy; Danny Willett; Matthew Fitzpatrick; Paul Dunne; Robert MacIntyre 
Most Walker Cup Appearances GB&I: Joseph Carr (10)
USA: Jay Sigel (9)
Most Walker Cup Victories GB&I: Gary Wolstenholme (10)
USA: Jay Sigel (18)
Schedule of Events Friday, Sept. 1 (Opening Ceremony)
Saturday, Sept. 2 (Four morning foursomes matches followed by eight singles matches)
Sunday, Sept. 3 (Four morning foursomes matches followed by 10 singles matches, followed by Closing Ceremony)
Broadcast Schedule TBD
Future Sites 2025: Cypress Point Club, Pebble Beach, Calif./Sept. 6-7
2028: Bandon Dunes Golf Resort, Bandon, Ore./Dates TBD
2032: Oakmont Country Club, Oakmont, Pa./Dates TBD
2036: Chicago Golf Club, Wheaton, Ill./Dates TBD