skip to main content

2022 U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Fast FactsAnchorage (Alaska) Golf Course

Judith Kyrinis, the 2017 champion, is one of three Canadians to have won the U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Championship. (USGA/Steven Gibbons)

Championship Venue Anchoragae Golf Course
Opened 1987
Architect Bill Newcomb
Dates of Championship July 30-Aug. 4
Field Size 132 players
Par/Yardage TBD
Entries Open Week of April 4, 2022
Entries Close June 8, 2022 at 5 p.m. EDT
Eligibility Open to any female golfer who is 50 years of age as of July 20 and whose Handicap Index does not exceed 14.4
2021 Championship Lara Tennant, 54, of Portland, Ore., became the first player since Carol Semple Thompson (1999-2002) to win three consecutive U.S. Senior Women's Amateur titles when she defeated seven-time USGA champion Ellen Port, of St. Louis, Mo., 2 and 1, in the championship match at The Lakewood Club in Point Clear, Ala. Tennant, who was the medalist and top seed, Port and Thompson are the only golfers to capture three or more titles since the format switched to match play in 1997. To read more, click here.
Quotable “I love that trophy; it’s so beautiful, and it’s been at my house for quite a while, because of COVID [postponing the 2020 championship] and winning the two previous years, so I’ve gotten kind of attached to it. It’ll go in the front entry, where it’s been now for three years, as a beautiful reminder of how lucky I am.” -- Lara Tennant
Final Frontier This will be the first USGA championship conducted in Alaska, and the state becomes the last among the 50, and District of Columbia, to host one.
Notable U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Champions Maureen Orcutt (1962, 1966); Carolyn Cudone (1969-72); Dorothy Porter (1977, 1980-81, 1983); Alice Dye (1978-79); Marlene Stewart Streit (1985, 1994, 2003); Anne Sander (1987, 1989-90, 1993); Carol Semple Thompson (1999-2002); Diane Lang (2005-06, 2008); Ellen Port (2012-13, 2016), Lara Tennant (2018, 19, 2021)
Notable U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Runners-Up Glenna Collett Vare (1962); Ann Gregory (1971); Carolyn Cudone (1974-75); Alice Dye (1977, 1981, 1989); Cecile Maclaurin (1978-80); Marlene Stewart Streit (1986, 1988, 1990, 1995-96); Anne Sander (1991-92); Toni Wiesner (1997, 2000, 2008); Mina Hardin (2011), Sue Wooster (2018-19), Ellen Port (2021)
Schedule of Play Saturday, July 30 (Stroke play, Round 1, 18 holes)
Sunday, July 31 (Stroke play, Round 2, 18 holes
Monday, Aug. 1 (Round of 64, match play)
Tuesday, Aug. 2 (Round of 32/Round of 16, match play)
Wednesday, Aug. 3 (Quarterfinals/Semifinals, match play)
Thursday, Aug. 4 (Championship Match, 18 holes)
Match-Play Cut The low 64 scorers following stroke play will qualify for match play. If necessary, a playoff will be conducted to determine the final spots in the draw.

More From 58th U.S. Senior Women's Amateur