2019 U.S. Amateur Fast FactsPinehurst Resort & Country Club (Courses No. 2 and 4), Village of Pinehurst, N.C.

Since hoisting the Havemeyer Trophy in 2013, Matthew Fitzpatrick has become one of the top 50 professionals in the world. (USGA/John Mummert)
Championship Venue Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (Course No. 2)
Stroke-Play Co-Host Venue Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (Course No. 4)
Dates of Championship August 12-18
Architects Course No. 2: Donald Ross (Revisions by Robert Trent Jones Sr. in 1972; renovation in 2010 by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw)
Course No. 4: Gil Hanse (Original 18 holes by Donald Ross; revisions in 1973 by Robert Trent Jones Sr.; redesign in 1999 by Tom Fazio)
Opened Course No. 2 (1907)
Course No. 4 (1919)
Volunteer/Tickets Pinehurst is currently taking information for those interested in purchasing tickets or volunteering at the championship at https://www.pinehurst.com/2019-u-s-amateur/
Field Size 312 competitors
Par/Yardage Course No. 2: 7,334 yards/par 70 (Subject to change)
Course No. 4: TBD
Entries Open April 3
Entries Close June 26 at 5 p.m. EDT
Eligibility Any amateur whose Handicap Index does not exceed 2.4
2018 Championship Viktor Hovland, a standout at Oklahoma State University, became the first Norwegian golfer to claim a USGA title when he defeated Devon Bling, of Ridgecrest, Calif., 6 and 5, in the 36-hole championship match at Pebble Beach (Calif.) Golf Links. To read more, click here.
Quotable “I always thought I had a pretty good vocabulary, but I’m lost for words. It’s really special. I’ve only won once before, and to win the U.S. Amateur as my second win is really cool. I just hope it’s the start of something great.” -- Viktor Hovland
Notable Past Events at Pinehurst  1902-1951: North and South Open (Notable winners include Course No. 2 designer Donald Ross, Sam Snead, Ben Hogan and Byron Nelson)
1901-Present: North and South Amateur (Notable winners include Walter Travis, Francis Ouimet, Chick Evans, Jack Nicklaus, William C. Campbell, Hal Sutton, Corey Pavin, Curtis Strange and Jack Nicklaus II)
1903-Present: North and South Women's Amateur (Notable winners include Glenna Collett Vare, Louis Suggs, Babe Zaharias, Peggy Kirk Bell, Hollis Stacy, Carol Semple Thompson, Anne Sander, Brittany Lang, Morgan Pressel, Danielle Kang and Kristen Gillman) 
1936 PGA Championship (Denny Shute)
1951 Ryder Cup Matches (USA)
1962 U.S. Amateur (Labron Harris Jr.)
1973-1982: Hall of Fame Classic/World Open (Notable winners include Jack Nicklaus, Tom Watson, Raymond Floyd and Hale Irwin)
1989 U.S. Women's Amateur (Vicki Goetze)
1991-92 PGA Tour Championship (Craig Stadler and Paul Azinger)
1994 U.S. Senior Open (Simon Hobday)
1999 U.S. Open (Payne Stewart)
2005 U.S. Open (Michael Campbell)
2008 U.S. Amateur (Danny Lee)
2014 U.S. Open (Martin Kaymer)
2014 U.S. Women's Open (Michelle Wie)
2017 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball (Frankie Capan/Shuai Ming Wong)
U.S. Amateurs in North Carolina (4) 1962: Pinehurst Resort & Country Club, Village of Pinehurst (Labron Harris Jr.)
1972: Charlotte (N.C.) Country Club (Marvin "Vinny" Giles)
1980: Country Club of North Carolina, Pinehurst (Hal Sutton)
2008: Pinehurst Resort & Country Club, Village of Pinehurst (Danny Lee)
Notable U.S. Amateur Champions C.B. Macdonald (1895); Walter Travis (1900-01, 1903); Jerome Travers (1907-08, 1912-13); Francis Ouimet (1914, 1931); Charles “Chick” Evans (1916, 1920); Bob Jones (1924-25, 1927-28, 1930); W. Lawson Little (1934-35); John Goodman (1937); Gene Littler (1953); Arnold Palmer (1954); Jack Nicklaus (1959, 1961); Deane Beman (1960, 1963); William C. Campbell (1964); Lanny Wadkins (1970); Jerry Pate (1974); Mark O’Meara (1979); Hal Sutton (1980); Jay Sigel (1982-83); Phil Mickelson (1990); Justin Leonard (1992); Tiger Woods (1994-96); Matt Kuchar (1997); Ryan Moore (2004); Danny Lee (2008); Matthew Fitzpatrick (2013); Bryson DeChambeau (2015) 
Notable U.S. Amateur Runners-Up Charles “Chick” Evans (1912, 1922, 1927); Jerome Travers (1914); Bob Jones (1920, 1926); Francis Ouimet (1920); John Goodman (1932); Frank Stranahan (1950); Deane Beman (1966); Tom Kite (1970); Ben Crenshaw (1972); Scott Hoch (1978); Trip Kuehne (1994); Hunter Mahan (2002); Luke List (2004); Michael Thompson (2007); Patrick Cantlay (2011)
Schedule of Play Monday, Aug. 12 (Stroke Play, Round 1, 18 holes)
Tuesday, Aug. 13 (Stroke Play, Round 2, 18 holes)
Wednesday, Aug. 14 (Round of 64, match play)
Thursday, Aug. 15 (Round of 32/Round of 16, match play)
Friday, Aug. 16 (Quarterfinal matches)
Saturday, Aug. 17 (Semifinal matches)
Sunday, Aug. 18 (Championship Match, 36 holes)
Match Play Cut Low 64 scorers from stroke play qualify for match play. If necessary, a playoff will be conducted to determine the final spots in the match-play draw
Future Sites 2020: Bandon Dunes Golf Resort, Bandon, Ore./Aug. 10-16