skip to main content

2016 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Fast Facts January 7, 2016 | Far Hills, N.J.

Winged Foot Golf Club's challenging East Course will host all the matches for the 2016 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship. (USGA/Russell Kirk)
Championship Venue Winged Foot Golf Club (East Course), Mamaroneck, N.Y.
Stroke-Play Co-Host Venue Winged Foot Golf Club (West Course), Mamaroneck, N.Y.
Opened 1923
Architect A.W. Tillinghast (East Course Renovations by Gil Hanse, 2015)
Dates of Championship May 21-25
Field Size 128 sides
Eligibility Each member of side must have a Handicap Index not exceeding 5.4
2015 Championship Nathan Smith/Todd White def. Greg Earnhardt/Sherrill Britt, 7 and 5; The Olympic Club (Lake Course), San Francisco, Calif.
Quotable “Great satisfaction. Great satisfaction, knowing that with Nathan here, we’re national champions.” – Todd White
Notable Past Events at Winged Foot 1929 U.S. Open (Robert T. Jones Jr.)
1940 U.S. Amateur (Richard D. Chapman)
1949 Walker Cup (United States)
1957 U.S. Women’s Open* (Betsy Rawls)
1959 U.S. Open (Billy Casper)
1972 U.S. Women’s Open* (Susie Maxwell Berning)
1974 U.S. Open (Hale Irwin)
1980 U.S. Senior Open* (Roberto De Vicenzo)
1984 U.S. Open (Fuzzy Zoeller)
1997 PGA Championship (Davis Love III)
2004 U.S. Amateur (Ryan Moore)
2006 U.S. Open (Geoff Ogilvy)
*Contested on East Course 
Exempt Sides (subject to change) Nathan Smith/Todd White (2015 champions)
Sherrill Britt/Greg Earnhardt (2015 finalists)
Scott Harvey/Todd Mitchell (2015 semifinalists)
Cameron Young/Will Zalatoris (both inside top 400 of World Amateur Golf Ranking)
Beau Hossler/Gavin Hall (both inside top 400 of WAGR™)
Doc Redman/Andrew Orischak (both inside top 400 of WAGR™)
Philip Barbaree/Wilson Furr (both inside top 400 of WAGR™)
Will Grimmer/Clark Engle (both inside top 400 of WAGR™)
Patrick Christovich/Garrett Rank (both inside top 400 of WAGR™)
Carter Jenkins/Benjamin Griffin (both inside top 400 of WAGR™)
Andrew Whalen/Dylan Wu (both inside top 400 of WAGR™)
Who's In? Click here for sectional qualifying results
Sectional Qualifying Qualifying began on Aug. 17, 2015 and continues through April 13, 2016 (51 sites)
Schedule of Play Saturday, May 21 (Stroke Play, Round 1, 18 holes)
Sunday, May 22 (Stroke Play, Round 2, 18 holes)
Monday, May 23 (Round of 32, match play)
Tuesday, May 24 (Round of 16/Quarterfinal matches)
Wednesday, May 25 (Semifinals, Championship match – 18 holes)
Television Coverage TBD
Future Sites 2017: Pinehurst Resort & Country Club, Village of Pinehurst, N.C./May 27-31
2018: Jupiter Hills Club, Tequesta, Fla./May 19-23
2020: Philadelphia Cricket Club, Philadelphia, Pa./May 23-27