skip to main content

Chicago G.C. to Host 2033 Women's Open, 2036 Walker Cup November 1, 2022 | Liberty Corner, N.J. By Julia Pine, USGA

Historic Chicago G.C. will host the U.S. Women's Open for the first time in 2033, and the Walker Cup for a third time in 2036. (USGA/Fred Vuich)

Chicago Golf Club, in Wheaton, Ill., has been chosen by the USGA as the host site for the 2033 U.S. Women’s Open Presented by ProMedica and the 2036 Walker Cup Match. The historic club has previously hosted 12 USGA championships, most recently the inaugural U.S. Senior Women’s Open in 2018.

“The history of the USGA and American golf can’t be told without Chicago Golf Club, and just over 125 years after hosting its first USGA championship, we’re thrilled to announce our return for two additional significant events,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA chief championships officer. “With the tremendous support of its members and a world-class venue, we’re confident that Chicago Golf Club will deliver memorable moments and an opportunity for golf fans around the world to see one of the country’s finest golf venues.”

Located in Chicago’s western suburbs, Chicago Golf Club was founded in 1892, debuted the first 18-hole course in the United States in 1893, and became one of five founding member clubs of the USGA in 1894. The storied club was established by Charles Blair Macdonald, who was the first U.S. Amateur champion in 1895 and served as the first vice president of the USGA.

Macdonald also designed the original Chicago Golf Club course, prior to Seth Raynor’s redesign that opened for play in 1923. The course recently underwent a restoration to return the original fairway lines and dimensions of all 128 bunkers on the course, including 13 bunkers that were reinstalled after the club discovered maps that indicated they were part of Raynor’s original layout.

“Hosting the best players in the world – men, women, amateur and professional – for USGA events is a point of pride for our club and a significant part of our long history,” said Herb Getz, Chicago Golf Club president. “We very much look forward to building upon that history and continuing our valued partnership with the USGA on an even larger stage well into the future.”

The venue has staged USGA championships in three centuries – U.S. Open (1897, 1900 and 1911); U.S. Amateur (1897, 1905, 1909 and 1912); U.S. Women’s Amateur (1903); Walker Cup (1928 and 2005); U.S. Senior Amateur (1979) and U.S. Senior Women’s Open (2018). Only six courses have hosted more USGA events than Chicago Golf Club’s 12, and Illinois’ 61 championships are the fifth-most of any state.

USA captain Bob Lewis called the 2005 Walker Cup Match at Chicago Golf Club “the greatest Walker Cup ever played” after the Americans held off Great Britain and Ireland, 12½-11½, to reclaim the Cup after three straight defeats. In 2018, Laura Davies won the inaugural U.S. Senior Women’s Open with a dominant 16-under-par, 10-stroke victory over Juli Inkster at Chicago Golf Club.

"Winning a USGA championship is always special, but winning one at Chicago Golf Club, one of the finest golf courses in the world, makes it even more so, and hoisting a trophy there in 2018 was a highlight of my career,” said Davies, who also won the 1987 U.S. Women’s Open. “Chicago Golf Club is a great test of golf within a supportive golf community. It should make for a fantastic U.S. Women's Open venue and will certainly crown a worthy champion."

Earlier this year, Minjee Lee of Australia claimed the 77th U.S. Women’s Open title with a record-setting four-stroke victory at Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club in Southern Pines, N.C., joining a Hall-of-Fame group of players who have won both the U.S. Girls’ Junior and U.S. Women’s Open. The championship is open to female professionals and amateurs with a Handicap Index® not exceeding 2.4.

In 2021, the USA claimed its third consecutive victory over Great Britain and Ireland, prevailing by a 14-12 margin in the 48th Walker Cup Match at Seminole Golf Club in Juno Beach, Fla. Jointly organized by the USGA and The R&A, the Walker Cup Match is a 10-player amateur team competition between the USA and GB&I. Starting in 2026, the match will be held in even-numbered years.

Future U.S. Women's Open Presented by ProMedica Sites
2023, 2035, 2040, 2048 Pebble Beach Golf Links Pebble Beach, Calif.
2024 Lancaster Country Club Lancaster, Pa
2025 Erin Hills Erin, Wis.
2026 The Riviera Country Club Pacific Palisades, Calif.
2027 Inverness Club Toledo, Ohio
2028, 2038 Oakmont Country Club Oakmont, Pa.
2029 Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (Course No. 2) Village of Pinehurst, N.C.
2030 Interlachen Country Club Edina, Minn.
2031, 2042 Oakland Hills Country Club (South Course) Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
2032 The Los Angeles Country Club Los Angeles, Calif.
2033 Chicago Golf Club Wheaton, Ill.
2034, 2046 Merion Golf Club (East Course) Ardmore, Pa.
Future Walker Cup Sites
2023 Old Course at St. Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland
2025 Cypress Point Club Pebble Beach, Calif.
2028 Bandon Dunes Golf Resort Bandon, Ore.
2032 Oakmont Country Club Oakmont, Pa.
2036 Chicago Golf Club Wheaton, Ill.

More From the USGA