skip to main content


Brooklawn to Host U.S. Senior Women's Open in 2021

By Amy Morton, USGA

| Aug 26, 2020 | Liberty Corner, N.J.

The 2021 U.S. Senior Women's Open will be the fifth USGA championship contested at Brooklawn C.C. in Fairfield, Conn. (Russell Kirk/USGA)

The USGA and LPGA will conduct its senior women’s major championships in consecutive weeks next August. Brooklawn Country Club in Fairfield, Conn., which was scheduled to host the 3rd U.S. Senior Women’s Open in 2020 before the COVID-19 pandemic canceled the championship, will now host the competition Aug. 19-22, 2021.

That will be followed by the 4th Senior LPGA Championship presented by Old National Bank at the French Lick (Ind.) Resort Aug. 23-29. The 2020 Senior LPGA Championship also was canceled because of the pandemic.

The U.S. Senior Women’s Open is the final addition to the 2021 USGA championship schedule.

“We could not be happier to still have the opportunity to host our 3rd U.S. Senior Women’s Open Championship at Brooklawn Country Club,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA senior managing director, championships. “Our newest championship continues to be a treasure for all who are involved. We cannot wait to see the players compete on this fantastic course next year.”

“We certainly missed the Senior LPGA Championship and its participants this year, and we hope to make the 2021 event the biggest and best one yet, not only for our players, sponsors, and spectators, but for the Patients at Riley Children’s Hospital,” said Dave Harner, director of golf operations at French Lick Resort. “We hope that everyone realizes the significance of this event on all points.”

The 2021 U.S. Senior Women’s Open will be the third USGA Open championship and fifth overall USGA championship hosted by Brooklawn Country Club. The club, founded in 1895, hosted the 1974 U.S. Junior Amateur Championship, won by David Nevatt; the 1979 U.S. Women’s Open, won by Jerilyn Britz; the 1987 U.S. Senior Open, won by Gary Player; and the 2003 U.S. Girls’ Junior, which was won by 16-year-old Sukjin-Lee Wuesthoff. Wuesthoff defeated future two-time U.S. Women’s Open champion Inbee Park in the championship match.

The format will continue to be a walking-only, 72-hole stroke play competition over four consecutive days with a 36-hole cut to the top 50 players, including ties. Laura Davies won the inaugural playing of the championship in July 2018 at Chicago Golf Club. The 2019 championship, played at Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club in Southern Pines, N.C., was won by Helen Alfredsson.

The Senior LPGA Championship presented by Old National Bank debuted in 2017 at The Pete Dye Course at French Lick Resort and has hosted the tournament since. Trish Johnson won the inaugural playing of the 54-hole stroke play major, followed by Laura Davies in 2018, who won the Senior LPGA three months after raising the trophy at the U.S. Senior Women’s Open. Alfredsson matched Davies’ feat in 2019, winning the Senior LPGA Championship in October to complete the sweep of senior majors. In 2021, the Senior LPGA Championship will put on a qualifying event for two spots the week of Aug. 23 for those who have not otherwise qualified, with more details to be announced at a later date.

More From the USGA