MODERNIZING GOLF'S RULES
Proposed Change: No Penalty for Moving a Ball on the Putting Green March 1, 2017

Modernizing Golf's Rules: Major Proposed Changes


Proposed Rule: Under new Rule 13.1:

There would no longer be a penalty if a player (or opponent) accidentally causes the player’s ball to move on the putting green.

The substance of this Rule change has already been implemented as of January 1, 2017 by authorizing Committees to adopt a Local Rule that eliminates the penalty for accidentally moving a ball on the putting green.


Reasons for Change:

The shape, slope and condition of many putting greens today increase the chances that a ball at rest on the putting green might move, and it can be difficult to determine whether a player caused the ball to move or whether the ball was moved by wind or other natural causes.

When a ball moves while the player is doing nothing more than taking normal actions to prepare for a stroke, it can seem unfair for the player to be penalized.

Most “ball moved” situations occur on the putting green, involve minimal movement of the ball, frequently occur when the player is taking reasonable actions to prepare for a stroke and the ball can be easily replaced.

These considerations are not the same when the ball lies off the putting green, and so the penalty would continue to apply (with exceptions, such as accidentally moving a ball during search) to a player or opponent in those circumstances to reinforce the principle that the ball should be played as it lies and that players should continue to exercise care when near to a ball in play.

More from the USGA