Major Change: Ball Accidentally Struck More Than Once During a Stroke March 12, 2018

Golf's New Rules: Major Changes

2019 Rule: Under Rule 10.1a, if the player’s club accidentally hits the ball more than once during a single stroke:

  • There will be no penalty and the ball will be played as it lies.

Reasons for Change:

Where a double hit occurs as part of a single stroke and was not the intention of the player, it was felt unfair and unnecessary for the player to be penalized.

Just as there is no penalty if a player’s ball accidentally deflects off his or her body, equipment or caddie, there is no need for a penalty when a player accidentally strikes his or her own ball in making a stroke.

  • Accidental deflections are, by definition, an accident. 
  • The outcome in such cases is random and unpredictable, and it results in a disadvantage for the player as often as it results in an advantage.

More from the USGA