U.S. Amateur Four-Ball History

U.S. Amateur Four-Ball: Results | Records

The inaugural U.S. Women's Four-Ball Championship -- and U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship -- are among the newest national championships to be conducted by the USGA, joining the inaugural U.S. Senior Women's Open that debuted in 2018. The two Four-Ball Championships replaced the now-retired U.S. Amateur Public Links and U.S. Women's Amateur Public Links Championships, which were conducted for the final time in 2014.

The creation of the two competitions was announced on Feb. 11, 2013. They became the first additions to the USGA roster of national championships since the U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur in 1987.

Four-ball has become a widely popular format for State and Regional Golf Associations across the United States. In 2012, more than 150 championships, either strictly four-ball or as part of a competition format, were conducted in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

The USGA accepted 2,234 sides for the inaugural U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship.

Four-time U.S. Mid-Amateur champion Nathan Smith, of Pittsburgh, Pa., and his partner Todd White, 47, of Spartanburg, S.C., won the inaugural title with a 7-and-5 victory over North Carolinians Greg Earnhardt, 46, of Greensboro, and Sherrill Britt, 49, of West End, on The Olympic Club's Lake Course in San Francisco.

U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Champions (2015-Present)

2015: Nathan Smith and Todd White def. Sherrill Britt and Greg Earnhardt, 7 and 5; The Olympic Club (Lake Course), San Francisco, Calif.; Medalists -- 130, Viraat Badwhar and Maverick McNealy; Entries -- 2,234.

2016: Benjamin Baxter and Andrew Buchanan def. Brandon Cigna and Ben Warnquist, 3 and 2; Winged Foot Golf Club (East Course), Mamaroneck, N.Y.; Medalists -- •126, Brandon Matthews and Patrick Ross; Entries -- 2,432.

2017: Shuai Ming (Ben) Wong and Frankie Capan def. Kyle Hudelson and Clark Collier, 2 and 1; Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (Course No. 2), Village of Pinehurst, N.C.; Medalists -- 129, Will Grimmer and Clark Engle; Entries -- 2,412.

2018: Garrett Barber and Cole Hammer def. Marc Dull and Chip Brooke, 4 and 3; Jupiter Hills Club (Hills Course), Tequesta, Fla.; Medalists -- 129, Bobby Bucey and Brett Viboch; Entries -- 2,279

2019: Todd Mitchell and Scott Harvey def. Logan Shuping and Blake Taylor, 2 and 1; Bandon Dunes Golf Resort (Old Macdonald), Bandon, Ore.; Medalists -- 128, Derek Ackerman and Matthew McCarty; Troy Vannucci and Vince Kwon; Derek Abel and Christopher Wheeler; Entries -- 2,466

2020: Championship canceled due to COVID-19 pandemic

2021: Kiko Francisco Coelho and Leopoldo Herrera III def. Brendan MacDougall and Sam Meek, 19 holes, Chambers Bay, University Place, Wash.; Medalists -- 126, Kelly Chinn and David Ford; Entries -- §2,544

• Record qualifying score

§ Record entries (2021)