2019 Rules FAQs

Dropping

How to Proceed if You Drop Instead of Replace

Q. What if I drop instead of replace or replace instead of drop?

A. If you drop instead of replace, and your ball is on the correct spot, you get a one-stroke penalty for not following the right procedure (see Rule 14.2b(2)). If it is not on the correct spot, you get the general penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play (see Interpretation 14.2b(2)/1). However, if you replace instead of drop, you get the general penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play (see Rule 14.3b(3)).