2019 Rules FAQs

Bunkers

Touching Sand in Bunker with Club

Q. May I touch the sand with my club when my ball is in a bunker?

A. Touching the sand with your club immediately in front of or behind your ball, during a practice swing or during your backswing is a penalty (see Rule 12.2b(1)). If you do this, you get a loss of hole penalty in match play or two penalty strokes in stroke play. Other touching of the sand in a bunker is generally ok, as long as you are not deliberately testing the condition of the sand.