Rules FAQs

Penalty Areas

Ball Still in Penalty Area after Stroke from Penalty Area

Q. My ball is still in the penalty area after a stroke from the penalty area – what are my options?

A. If you play a stroke from a penalty area and your ball remains in the penalty area, you have the same options for one penalty stroke that you had before making a stroke (see Rule 17.2a(1)). As an additional option, you may also choose to take relief for one penalty stroke using the reference point of the spot where you last made a stroke from outside the penalty area (see Rule 17.2a(2)).