There is a Rule to help out: If the ball will not stay at rest after you replace it, you must proceed in accordance with Rule 20-3d (Ball Fails to Come to Rest on Spot), which says the following: If a ball when placed fails to come to rest on the spot on which it was placed, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. If it still fails to come to rest on that spot: (i) except in a hazard, it must be placed at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer the hole and not in a hazard: (ii) in a hazard, it must be placed in the hazard at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer the hole. If a ball when placed comes to rest on the spot on which it is placed, and it subsequently moves, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies, unless the provisions of any other Rule apply. There is a spot on the golf course where the ball will come to rest and it might be off the putting green -- you’ve simply got to find that nearest spot. The last part of the Rule explains that once the ball is replaced and at rest, if it subsequently moves as a result of wind or gravity, the ball must be played from where it came to rest, without penalty. We’ve had so many questions about a ball in play moving due to wind or gravity that we include additional information on the topic in Frequently Asked Questions.