If you’ve played enough golf, you have probably tried it yourself. Your ball comes to rest in a position where it is impossible to make a traditional right- or left-handed stroke. So, you try to play it from the opposite side of the ball. This is exactly what Phil Mickelson, a left-handed player, attempted to do during the final round of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship last Sunday. Mickelson was three under par for the round through the first 12 holes when his tee shot on the par-4 13th came to rest under a bush. In an attempt to extricate the ball on his next stroke, Mickelson played the ball right-handed, something he has done many times in the past. Unfortunately, during this stroke, the ball bounced up and struck Mickelson’s club a second time. Rule 14-4 states: “If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all.” In Mickelson’s case, his stroke from under the bush counted, and after including the penalty stroke, his next shot (which he again hit right-handed) was his fourth. He went on to make a triple-bogey 7 on the hole and finished in a tie for second, one stroke behind champion Pablo Larrazábal. The USGA will provide up to two Rules of Golf books for minimal shipping-and-handling charges. Contact the USGA Order Department at 1-800-336-4446, Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (ET), or go to the USGA Shop on usga.org.