The definition of a stroke in the Rules of Golf is the “forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if the player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.” Decision 14/1.5 asks, if a player who begins his downswing with the intention of striking the ball decides during the downswing not to strike the ball and is unable to stop his swing, but swings over the top of the ball instead, has he made a stroke? The answer is that altering the path of the swing to miss the ball is the same as checking the downswing as we occasionally see Tiger Woods do. If Na had hit the ball, the stroke would have counted even if he stated that he had intended to miss it. Additionally, if the player missed the ball, but there is any doubt as to the player’s intention the stroke would count. In his interview after the round, Na stated that he has purposely altered his swing to miss the ball in the past and has discussed this with PGA Tour officials. They are comfortable with his statement that he did not intend to strike the ball.