http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-32 false BOGEY, PAR AND STABLEFORD COMPETITIONS: CONDITIONS BOGEY, PAR AND STABLEFORD COMPETITIONS: CONDITIONS 32-1/1 Competing Simultaneously in Bogey, Par or Stableford Competition and Stroke-Play Competition Q.Is it permissible for a player to compete simultaneously in a bogey, par or Stableford competition and a stroke-play competition? A.Yes, as bogey, par and Stableford competitions are each forms of stroke-play competition. Related Decision: - 33-1/6 Players in Match Compete Concurrently in Stroke-Play Competition. 32-1/2 Omitting Holes in Bogey, Par or Stableford Competition Q.In a bogey, par or Stableford competition, may a player omit, for example, two holes for the round and return a score for 16 holes? A.Yes. Under Rule 32-1a, any hole for which a competitor makes no return in a bogey or par competition is regarded as a loss. Under Rule 32-1b, if no score is returned on a hole in a Stableford competition, the competitor scores no points for that hole. BOGEY, PAR AND STABLEFORD COMPETITIONS: DISQUALIFICATION FROM COMPETITION 32-2a/1 Four-Ball Stableford Competition on Handicap Basis; Side's Scores Transposed at a Hole But Not to Side's Advantage Q.A and B were partners in a four-ball Stableford competition on a handicap basis. At a hole where A, but not B, received a handicap stroke, A scored a 4 (net 3) and B scored a 5. The marker inadvertently transposed the scores, recording a 5 (net 4) for A and a 4 for B. The card was returned with these scores recorded. What is the ruling? A.There is no penalty. Although B's recorded score of 4 was lower than the score actually taken by him, since it was not lower than the recorded score of net 4 for A (which was higher than actually taken by A), there was no breach of Rule 31-7a. Nor was there a breach of Rule 32-2a, since the error did not affect the result of the hole. The same ruling would apply in a four-ball bogey or par competition on a handicap basis. Related Decision: - 31-7a/1 Competitor Records Score for Hole Not Completed. 32-2a/2 Four-Ball Stableford Competition on Handicap Basis; Side's Scores Transposed at a Hole to Side's Advantage Q.A and B were partners in a four-ball Stableford competition on a handicap basis. At a hole, A scored 4 (net 3) and B scored 5 (net 4). The marker inadvertently transposed the scores, recording 5 (net 4) for A and 4 (net 3) for B. The card was returned with these scores recorded. What is the ruling? A.B's recorded score of 4 (net 3) was the lower recorded score. As this was lower than the score actually taken by B and was also lower than A's recorded score of 5 (net 4), the result of the hole was affected and the side is disqualified under Rule 32-2a for a breach of Rule 31-7a. The same ruling would apply in a four-ball bogey or par competition on a handicap basis. Related Decision: - 31-7a/2 Lower Gross Score Attributed to Wrong Partner. 32-2a/3 Handicap Stableford Competition; Recording of Lower Gross Score Affects Result of Hole Q.In a handicap Stableford competition against a fixed score of par, a competitor inadvertently returns his score card to the Committee with a score of 6 at the 9th hole when his score for the hole was actually 7. The 9th hole is a par 4 at which the competitor receives a handicap stroke. What is the ruling? A.As the recording of the lower score affected the result of the hole, i.e., the competitor would be awarded 1 point for the hole when he should have received no points, the competitor is disqualified under Rule 32-2a for a breach of Rule 6-6d. 32-2a/4 Handicap Stableford Competition; Recording of Lower Gross Score Does Not Affect Result of Hole Q.In a handicap Stableford competition against a fixed score of par, a competitor inadvertently returns his score card to the Committee with a score of 6 at the 11th hole when his score for the hole was actually 7. The 11th hole is a par 4 at which the competitor receives no handicap strokes. What is the ruling? A.As the recording of the lower score did not affect the result of the hole, i.e., the competitor would be awarded no points for the hole despite recording a 6 instead of a 7, there is no penalty (Rule 32-2a). 32-2a/5 Handicap Bogey or Par Competition; Recording of Lower Gross Score Does Not Affect Result of Hole Q.In a handicap bogey or par competition, a competitor inadvertently returns his score card to the Committee with a score of 3 at the 10th hole when his score for the hole was actually 4. The 10th hole is a par 4 at which the competitor receives a handicap stroke. What is the ruling? A.As the recording of the lower score did not affect the result of the hole, i.e., the competitor would be awarded the hole despite recording a 3 instead of a 4, there is no penalty (Rule 32-2a). BOGEY, PAR AND STABLEFORD COMPETITIONS: DISQUALIFICATION FOR HOLE 32-2b/1 Breach of Rule by Both Partners at Same Hole in Four-Ball Stableford Q.A and B are partners in a four-ball Stableford competition. During the play of a hole, A and B find they have exchanged balls at the previous hole. What is the ruling? A.A and B are not disqualified from the competition but only for the hole at which they exchanged balls, for which they score no points. Other Decisions related to Rule 32: See "Bogey Competition," "Par Competition" and "Stableford Competition" in the Index.