When a stroke is cancelled by an opponent (such as under Rule 6.4a(2) – Playing Out of Turn) or does not count under a Rule (such as under Exception 2 to Rule 11.1b – When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green), it is disregarded from the player’s score as if it never took place. If the player does not replace the ball, but instead plays from where the ball came to rest, he or she has played from a wrong place and Rule 14.7 (Playing from Wrong Place) applies since the player was required to replay the stroke.
For example, a player makes a stroke from the putting green that accidentally hits a hole-liner that came out of the hole when the flagstick was removed (Exception 2 to Rule 11.1b). Instead of replacing a ball and replaying the stroke, the player plays the ball from where it came to rest. The stroke with the ball that accidentally hit the hole-liner does not count in the player’s score. However, by not replacing a ball as required, the player has played from a wrong place and Rule 14.7 applies.
This also applies if a player plays out of turn and the stroke is cancelled by an opponent under Rule 6.4a(2).
If a ball comes to rest against a person or an outside influence after being accidentally deflected or stopped and the person or outside influence moves or is moved, Rule 9 applies, and the player must follow the Rule appropriately. However, there is no penalty under Rule 9 if the ball moves after coming to rest against a person or equipment.
Examples of where there is no penalty include when:
The player’s ball comes to rest against the opponent’s foot after being accidentally stopped by him or her and the ball moves as a result of the opponent moving. The player must replace the ball as required by Rule 9.5 but neither the player nor the opponent gets a penalty.
The player’s ball in motion is accidentally stopped by his or her club after rolling back down a hill and the ball moves as a result of removing the club. The player must replace the ball as required by Rule 9.4 but gets no penalty.
For other situations when a ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as an animal), and that outside influence moves and causes the ball to move, see Rule 9.6 for what to do.
Rule 11.2 applies to a situation where a player did not initially position the equipment, other object or person for the purpose of deflecting the ball in motion, but once positioned by the player, he or she realizes it may deflect or stop the ball and deliberately leaves it there.
An example where the player gets a penalty is when:
After raking a bunker, a player places the rake between the putting green and the bunker, without any thought of it influencing a ball. The player, who now has a downhill putt towards the bunker, realizes the rake might stop his or her ball and plays without first moving the rake. The player putts and the ball is stopped by that rake.
An example where the player does not get a penalty is when:
A rake has been left by a preceding group between the putting green and a bunker. A player, who has a downhill putt towards the bunker, sees the rake and leaves it there because it might stop the ball if his or her putt is too strong. The player putts and the ball is stopped by that rake.
When a ball in motion is deliberately deflected or stopped and it is estimated that it would have come to rest in a penalty area, the player has the choice to drop a ball in the penalty area (Rule 11.2c(1)) or take relief from the penalty area (Rule 17.1d).
If the player decides to take relief from the penalty area because he or she does not wish to drop a ball in the relief area in the penalty area, the player must estimate the point that the ball would have last crossed the edge of the penalty area when taking relief under Rule 17.1d.
Rule 11.3 applies when a player or caddie takes a deliberate action for the purpose of affecting a ball in motion, and the player is in breach of this Rule even if the deliberate action does not affect where the ball comes to rest.
Examples where the player gets the general penalty under Rule 11.3, and in stroke play must play the ball where it comes to rest, include when:
The player’s ball lies in the general area at the bottom of a slope. The player makes a stroke and, while the ball is rolling back down the slope, the player presses down a raised piece of turf for the purpose of preventing the ball from coming to rest in a bad lie.
The player believes a rake lying on the ground may stop or deflect another player’s ball in motion, so the player lifts the rake.
Examples where there is no penalty, and in stroke play the ball must be played where it comes to rest, include when:
A player’s ball lies in the general area at the bottom of a slope. The player makes a stroke and the ball begins to roll back down the slope. Unaware that the ball was returning to the area from where it had been played, the player presses down a raised piece of turf without any intent to affect where the ball might come to rest. There is no penalty even if the ball comes to rest in the pressed down area.
After making a stroke and while the ball is in motion, a player lifts a nearby rake to give it to another player for an upcoming bunker shot. The player’s ball rolls through the area that the rake was lifted from.