Rule 11 - Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits Person, Animal or Object; Deliberate Actions to Affect Ball in Motion

11.1  Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits Person or Outside Influence

11.1b/1 – Playing from Where Ball Came to Rest When Stroke Does Not Count Is Playing from Wrong Place

When a stroke is cancelled by an opponent (such as under Rule 6.4a(2) – Playing Out of Turn) or does not count under a Rule (such as under Exception 2 to Rule 11.1b – When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green), it is disregarded from the  player’s score as if it never took place. If the player does not replace the ball, but instead plays from where the ball came to rest, he or she has played from a wrong place and Rule 14.7 (Playing from Wrong Place) applies since the player was required to replay the stroke.

For example, a player makes a stroke from the putting green that accidentally hits a hole-liner that came out of the hole when the flagstick was removed (Exception 2 to Rule 11.1b). Instead of replacing a ball and replaying the stroke, the player plays the ball from where it came to rest. The stroke with the ball that accidentally hit the hole-liner does not count in the player’s score. However, by not replacing a ball as required, the player has played from a wrong place and Rule 14.7 applies.

This also applies if a player plays out of turn and the stroke is cancelled by an opponent under Rule 6.4a(2).

11.1b/2 – What to Do When Ball Moves After Being Accidentally Deflected or Stopped

If a ball comes to rest against a person or an outside influence after being accidentally deflected or stopped and the person or outside influence moves or is moved, Rule 9 applies, and the player must follow the Rule appropriately. However, there is no penalty under Rule 9 if the ball moves after coming to rest against a person or equipment.

Examples of where there is no penalty include when:

For other situations when a ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as an animal), and that outside influence moves and causes the ball to move, see Rule 9.6 for what to do.

11.2  Ball in Motion Deliberately Deflected or Stopped by Person

11.2a/1 – Equipment Left in Position After Player Realizes It Could Be Helpful if the Ball Were to Hit It

Rule 11.2 applies to a situation where a player did not initially position the equipment, other object or person for the purpose of deflecting the ball in motion, but once positioned by the player, he or she realizes it may deflect or stop the ball and deliberately leaves it there.

An example where the player gets a penalty is when:

An example where the player does not get a penalty is when:

11.2c(1)/1 – Options When Ball Would Have Come to Rest in Penalty Area

When a ball in motion is deliberately deflected or stopped and it is estimated that it would have come to rest in a penalty area, the player has the choice to drop a ball in the penalty area (Rule 11.2c(1)) or take relief from the penalty area (Rule 17.1d).

If the player decides to take relief from the penalty area because he or she does not wish to drop a ball in the relief area in the penalty area, the player must estimate the point that the ball would have last crossed the edge of the penalty area when taking relief under Rule 17.1d.

11.3  Deliberately Moving Objects or Altering Conditions to Affect Ball in Motion

11.3/1 – Outcome of Deliberate Actions to Affect Ball inMotion Is Irrelevant

Rule 11.3 applies when a player or caddie takes a deliberate action for the purpose of affecting a ball in motion, and the player is in breach of this Rule even if the deliberate action does not affect where the ball comes to rest.

Examples where the player gets the general penalty under Rule 11.3, and in stroke play must play the ball where it comes to rest, include when:

Examples where there is no penalty, and in stroke play the ball must be played where it comes to rest, include when: