FEATURED PHOTO
Unauthorized Attendance March 15, 2016

This guy is more than welcome to attend the flagstick- as long as the player knows about it beforehand! (Todd Stice/Kansas City Golf Association)

If the little tyke is not authorized to attend the flagstick before another player makes a stroke, he is subject to penalty under Rule 17-2 and the player does not incur a penalty. A putt that strikes the flagstick would be canceled and replayed.

In all likelihood, though, the player is aware that he is attending the flagstick. If there is no objection before the stroke, the player is deemed to have authorized the attendance. Any breaches of the Rule fall on the player – clearly the more responsible party!

Come across a Rules quandary or intriguing situation on the course? Snap a photograph and send it to rules.newsletter@usga.org or tweet it to us @USGA!

Your submission is subject to the Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions set forth on the USGA website.

Rules of Golf Newsletter