COURSE CARE
Oakmont Magic June 17, 2016 By Jim Skorulski, agronomist, Northeast Region

The magic of Oakmont’s greens comes from fine-textured, dense annual bluegrass.

Seeing is believing when it comes to the putting surfaces for this week's U.S. Open Championship. The greens at Oakmont Country Club in Oakmont, Pa. are living up to their reputation for providing extremely smooth and fast surfaces. What makes the putting surfaces so special? It is the very fine-textured and dense strains of annual bluegrass that have evolved under a rigorous and careful maintenance programs. Those wishing to emulate the conditions at Oakmont must realize that it requires a long, and sometimes painful, process along with ideal growing conditions, investments in infrastructure and a talented and committed management team.

To learn more about how Oakmont was prepared for the 2016 U.S. Open Championship, read Preparing The Golf Course At Oakmont For The U.S. Open.

 

Northeast Region Agronomists:

David A. Oatis, regional director – doatis@usga.org

Adam Moeller, director, Green Section Education – amoeller@usga.org

James E. Skorulski, agronomist – jskorulski@usga.org

Elliott Dowling, agronomist – edowling@usga.org

Addison Barden, agronomist – abarden@usga.org

Paul Jacobs, agronomist – pjacobs@usga.org

Information on the USGA’s Course Consulting Service 

Contact the Green Section Staff

PDF Version

More from the USGA