COURSE CARE
Two Thumbs-Up February 3, 2017 By Jim Skorulski, agronomist, Northeast Region

Open ponds, frost-free soils and healthy turf in central New York in January brings guarded optimism, but nobody knows what the remainder of winter will bring.

January has been dominated by above-normal temperatures and periodic rain events. The extended period of mild temperatures and rain has eliminated ground frost and snow cover over a large part of the Northeast Region. Concerns about ice cover have been replaced by fears of desiccation. The mild and rainy weather, though beneficial in many ways, has also disrupted tree removal programs and other winter projects in southern parts of the region.

The recent return of colder temperatures reminds us not to become complacent. The remaining weeks of winter can still bring brutal weather conditions such as heavy snow, freeze and thaw events, and flash freezes that can be devastating to turf. The good news is that turf appears to be in relatively good condition and is mostly ice-free across large parts of the Northeast Region. Hopefully, this will help turf survive whatever the remaining weeks of winter have in store.

We wish all of those going to the Golf Industry Show in Orlando a safe trip and encourage you to stop by booth 1325 to visit with the USGA, ask questions and learn about the wide array of resources that are available from the USGA to help manage your golf facility.

 

Northeast Region Agronomists:

David A. Oatis, regional director – doatis@usga.org

Adam Moeller, director, Green Section Education – amoeller@usga.org

James E. Skorulski, agronomist – jskorulski@usga.org

Elliott Dowling, agronomist – edowling@usga.org

Addison Barden, agronomist – abarden@usga.org

Paul Jacobs, agronomist – pjacobs@usga.org

Information on the USGA’s Course Consulting Service 

Contact the Green Section Staff

PDF Version

More from the USGA