2018 U.S. Senior Open Fast Facts September 15, 2017 | Far Hills, N.J. By USGA

Colin Montgomerie, of Scotland, won the 2014 U.S. Senior Open in a playoff at Oak Tree National in Edmond, Okla. (USGA/John Mummert)

U.S. Senior Open Home

Championship Venue The Broadmoor (East Course), Colorado Springs, Colo.
Opened 1918
Architect Donald Ross (Revisions by Robert Trent Jones Sr. in 1952)
Dates of Championship June 28-July 1
Field Size 156
Yardage/Par 7,256 yards/Par 70 (Subject to change)
Eligibility Open to any professional or amateur golfer who is 50 years of age as of June 28 and whose Handicap Index does not exceed 3.4.
2017 Championship Kenny Perry, the 2013 champion, carded a 2-under-par 68 in the final round to edge Kirk Triplett by two strokes at Salem Country Club in Peabody, Mass. Perry finished with 12 consecutive pars.
Quotable "I didn't think I'd ever be holding the trophy again. That's how golf is. When you win, you don't think you are ever going to lose. And when you're losing all the time, you think you're never going to win. That's just how brutal our sport is. Thank goodness it showed back up again."
Notable Past Events at The Broadmoor (7) 1959 U.S. Amateur (Jack Nicklaus)
1962 Curtis Cup Match (USA)
1967 U.S. Amateur (Robert B. Dickson)
1982 U.S. Women's Amateur (Juli Simpson Inkster)
1995 U.S. Women's Open (Annika Sorenstam)
2008 U.S. Senior Open (Eduardo Romero)
2011 U.S. Women's Open (So Yeon Ryu)
Notable U.S. Senior Open Champions Arnold Palmer (1981); Miller Barber (1982, 1984-85); Billy Casper (1983); Gary Player (1987-88); Lee Trevino (1990); Jack Nicklaus (1991, 1993); Tom Weiskopf (1995); Hale Irwin (1998, 2000); Allen Doyle (2005-06); Fred Funk (2009); Bernhard Langer (2010); Colin Montgomerie (2014)
Notable Senior Open Runners-Up a-William C. Campbell (1980); Gene Littler (1982); Arnold Palmer (1984); Gary Player (1986); Bob Charles (1988); Jack Nicklaus (1990, 1995); Chi Chi Rodriguez (1991); Hale Irwin (1996, 2004); Tom Watson (2002-03, 2006); Ben Crenshaw (2007); Fred Couples (2010); Fred Funk (2008, 2012-13); Mark O’Meara (2011); Colin Montgomerie (2015); Miguel Angel Jimenez (2016); Billy Mayfair (2016)
Schedule of Play June 28 (First Round, 18 holes, stroke play)
June 29 (Second Round, 18 holes, stroke play)
June 30 (Third Round, 18 holes, stroke play)
July 1 (Fourth Round, 18 holes, stroke play)
Cut Low 60 scorers and ties will play final 36 holes
Future Sites 2019: Warren Course at Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Ind./June 27-30
2020: Newport Country Club, Newport, R.I./June 25-28
2021: Omaha Country Club, Omaha, Neb./July 8-11
2022: Saucon Valley Country Club, Bethlehem, Pa./June 23-26

More from the USGA