USGA NEWS
USGA Issues New Statement on Rule 14-1b July 2, 2013 By USGA

FAR HILLS, N.J. – The United States Golf Association today released the following statement regarding the acceptance by the PGA Tour and The PGA of America of Rule 14-1b of the Rules of Golf that prohibits anchoring the club in making a stroke. Final approval of Rule 14-1b was announced by the USGA and The R&A on May 21. The new Rule will take effect on January 1, 2016, in accordance with the regular four-year cycle for changes to the Rules of Golf.

“The United States Golf Association is pleased with the decision by the PGA Tour and The PGA of America to follow Rule 14-1b, when it goes into effect in January 2016, for their respective competitions. As set forth in our report, “Explanation of Decision to Adopt Rule 14-1b,” the game benefits from having a single set of rules worldwide, applicable to all levels of play, and the acceptance of Rule 14-1b by the PGA Tour and The PGA of America supports the game in this regard.”

For more information about the new Rule, including the report, “Explanation of Decision to Adopt Rule 14-1b of the Rules of Golf” and a Guidance Document for Players and Officials, visit www.usga.org/anchoring.