USGA Herbert Warren Wind Book Award Winners

1987 — Al Barkow, "Gettin' to the Dance Floor"
1989 — Phil Pilley, "Golfing Art"
1990 — Robert Trent Jones Sr., with Larry Dennis, "Golf's Magnificent Challenge"
1991 — Bobby Burnet, "The St. Andrews Opens"
1992 — Rhonda Glenn, "The Illustrated History of Women's Golf"
No award was given in 1988 or from 1993-96
1997 — Davis Love III, "Every Shot I Take"
1998 — Lawrence Donegan, "Maybe I Should Have Been a Three-Iron"
1999 — David Owen, "The Making of the Masters: Clifford Roberts, Augusta National and Golf's Most Prestigious Tournament"
2000 — Stephen Lowe, "Sir Walter and Mr. Jones"
2001 — Bradley S. Klein, "Discovering Donald Ross: The Architect and His Golf Courses"
2002 — Mark Frost, "The Greatest Game Ever Played"
2003 — Phil Pilley, "Heather and Heaven"
2004 — James Dodson, "Ben Hogan: An American Life"
2005 — John Strege, "When War Played Through: Golf During World War II"
2006 — James W. Finegan, "Where Golf is Great: The Finest Courses of Scotland and Ireland"
2007 — Kevin Cook, "Tommy's Honor: The Story of Old Tom Morris and Young Tom Morris, Golf's Founding Father and Son"
2008 — David Malcom and Peter E. Crabtree, "Tom Morris of St. Andrews:  The Colossus of Golf 1821-1908"
2009 — John de St. Jorre, "The Story of Golf at The Country Club"
2010 — David Barrett, "Miracle at Merion: The Inspiring Story of Ben Hogan's Amazing Comeback and Victory in the 1950 U.S. Open
2011 — Don Van Natta Jr., "Wonder Girl: The Magnificent Sporting Life of Babe Didrikson Zaharias"
2012 — James Dodson, "American Triumvirate: Sam Snead, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan and the Modern Age of Golf"
2013 — Jeff Silverman, "Merion: The Championship Story"
2014 — James R. Hansen, "A Difficult Par"
2015 — Roger McStravick, "St. Andrews: In the Footsteps of Old Tom Morris"
2016 — Kevin Robbins, "Harvey Penick: The Life and Wisdom of the Man Who Wrote the Book on Golf"; Peter Lewis, "Why Are Their 18 Holes?"
2017 — Dr. Lane Demas, "Game of Privilege: An African American History of Golf"