Q. Is it permissible for two fellow-competitors in stroke play to agree to leave the ball of one of the players near the hole to assist the other player in playing his ball from just off the putting green?
A. No. In stroke play, competitors (including partners) may not agree to leave a ball in place to assist the other competitor. The penalty for agreeing to leave the ball in place in stroke play would be disqualification. – Rule 22-1
|Note: This FAQ has been updated to reflect the 2012 Rules of Golf.|
Below you can view videos related to this Rule.
|Company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open|
Bob Murphy’s ball had company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open… belonging to his fellow competitor, Hubert Green. Green’s ball struck and moved Murphy’s ball then came to rest on the spot where Murphy’s ball had originally been located.
|RealPlayer||Windows Media Player|
|High Bandwidth||High Bandwidth|
|Low Bandwidth||Low Bandwidth|