Rules FAQ


Rule 22

Ball Lifted on Thought it will Interfere with Another Player

Q.  Under Rule 22, a player may only lift his ball if he feels it will assist another player (Rule 22-1) or if another player has asked the ball to be lifted (Rule 22-2). What is the ruling if a player lifts his ball in play because he feels it will interfere with another player?

A.  The player was not authorized to lift his ball in this situation. Therefore, he incurs a one stroke penalty under Rule 18-2a and must replace the ball. (See Note to Rule 22)


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open
Bob Murphy’s ball had company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open… belonging to his fellow competitor, Hubert Green. Green’s ball struck and moved Murphy’s ball then came to rest on the spot where Murphy’s ball had originally been located.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth