Rules FAQ


Rule 20

Club to be Used in Measuring Club-Lengths

Q.  When measuring club-lengths on the ground, what club must be used?

A.  The player may use any club he has selected for play to measure club-lengths - see Decisions 20/1 and 20/2.


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Approach shot found this water hazard to the side of the green
During the 2002 Verizon Byron Nelson Classic, Shigeki Maruyama’s approach shot found this water hazard to the side of the green. He was penalized one stroke under Rule 26-1 and then sought the assistance of a Rules Official to determine the correct procedure for taking a drop:
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Caused ball to move slightly
Tom Lehman was playing in the final round of the 1996 U.S. Open, and was one shot from the lead with one hole to go. After chipping onto the 17th green, he went to mark his ball, and caused it to move slightly.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Ball stepped on, lie altered.
On the final hole of the 2000 U.S. Open, Ernie Els' approach shot landed in the rough, just off the green. A member of the media following Els' group apparently stepped on the ball.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth