Rules FAQ


Rule  19-5

Ball in Motion Hits Another Ball at Rest

Q.  Steve`s ball was at rest on the putting green, and Cindy plays from just off the green, and her ball hits Steve`s ball. What must Cindy do?

A.  Cindy must play her ball as it lies with no penalty. In stroke play only, if Cindy's ball lay on the putting green prior to the stroke, she will incur a penalty of two strokes. (See related FAQ under Rule 18)


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open
Bob Murphy’s ball had company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open… belonging to his fellow competitor, Hubert Green. Green’s ball struck and moved Murphy’s ball then came to rest on the spot where Murphy’s ball had originally been located.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Natural objects
Payne Stewart’s chip shot at the 1991 PGA Championship was deflected by a leaf on the putting green and found its way into the hole. Natural objects – and that includes leaves – are loose impediments. However, this leaf also has the status of an “outside agency.”
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Tee shot hops over the green
On the Par 3 12th hole of the final round at the 2003 “AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am,” Davis Love’s tee shot hopped over the green… but he got a lucky break when the ball found a photographer’s leg.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth