Rules FAQ

Rule 18-3

Opponent Steps on Ball During Search

Q. Jane was helping her opponent, Amy, look for Amy`s ball in long grass. Jane accidentally stepped on Amy`s ball. Does Jane incur a penalty?

A. No. As the opponent`s ball was moved during search, there is no penalty. Amy must replace her ball. If Jane had moved Amy`s ball other than during search, she would incur a penalty of one stroke.

Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video

Outside agency decided to wreak havoc with the ball

At the 1998 Players Championship, Steve Lowery's ball was at rest on the green when an outside agency decided to wreak havoc with the ball.

Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video

Company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open

Bob Murphy’s ball had company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open… belonging to his fellow competitor, Hubert Green. Green’s ball struck and moved Murphy’s ball then came to rest on the spot where Murphy’s ball had originally been located.

Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video

Approach shot strikes another player's ball already on the green

Watch what happens on this shot by Patty Sheehan at the 1989 U.S. Women's Open. Her approach shot strikes another player's ball already on the green.

Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video

Approach shot came to rest in a tree left of the green

At the 2000 William's World Challenge, Bernhard Langer's approach shot came to rest in a tree left of the green. Langer declared his ball unplayable to protect himself from incurring a penalty for moving his ball into play during a search.

Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video

Moved by another ball

Mhairi McKay’s approach shot during the third round of the 2003 US Women’s Open was “dead on”… but not exactly what she had hoped. McKay’s ball sailed into the bunker, colliding with the ball of Hillary Lunke, her fellow-competitor.