Rules FAQ


Rule 18-2

Practice Swing Accidentally Moves Ball before Stroke on Teeing Ground

Q.  Before making a stroke on the teeing ground, a player makes a practice swing and accidentally knocks the ball off the tee with the club. Is there a penalty?

A.  There is no penalty as the ball was not in play. Additionally, the player has not made a stroke - see Definition of "Stroke." The player must put a ball into play from the teeing ground. (Decision 18-2a/19)


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.


RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth

RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth

RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth

RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth

RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth