Rules FAQ


Rule 18-2

Practice Swing Accidentally Moves Ball before Stroke on Teeing Ground

Q.  Before making a stroke on the teeing ground, a player makes a practice swing and accidentally knocks the ball off the tee with the club. Is there a penalty?

A.  There is no penalty as the ball was not in play. Additionally, the player has not made a stroke - see Definition of "Stroke." The player must put a ball into play from the teeing ground. (Decision 18-2a/19)


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Outside agency decided to wreak havoc with the ball
At the 1998 Players Championship, Steve Lowery's ball was at rest on the green when an outside agency decided to wreak havoc with the ball.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open
Bob Murphy’s ball had company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open… belonging to his fellow competitor, Hubert Green. Green’s ball struck and moved Murphy’s ball then came to rest on the spot where Murphy’s ball had originally been located.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Approach shot strikes another player's ball already on the green
Watch what happens on this shot by Patty Sheehan at the 1989 U.S. Women's Open. Her approach shot strikes another player's ball already on the green.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Approach shot came to rest in a tree left of the green
At the 2000 William's World Challenge, Bernhard Langer's approach shot came to rest in a tree left of the green. Langer declared his ball unplayable to protect himself from incurring a penalty for moving his ball into play during a search.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Moved by another ball
Mhairi McKay’s approach shot during the third round of the 2003 US Women’s Open was “dead on”… but not exactly what she had hoped. McKay’s ball sailed into the bunker, colliding with the ball of Hillary Lunke, her fellow-competitor.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth