Rules FAQ


Rule 15-2

Can I use a Putting Ball?

Q.  Once I reach the putting green, is it permissible to switch balls so I can putt with a ball that has "better feel?"

A.  Rule 15-2 requires a player to hole out with the ball played from the teeing ground unless he is proceeding under a Rule that permits him to substitute another ball. Thus, the substitution of a ball on the putting green other than when permitted by the Rules (i.e, a ball unfit for play) is contrary to Rule 15-2. However, a player may change golf balls between the play of two holes.