Rules FAQ


Rule 14-5

Ball Moves after Address, Player Strikes Moving Ball

Q.  After the player has addressed his ball and begun the backward movement of the club for his stroke, the player’s ball begins to move. The player continues his stroke and strikes the ball while it is still moving. Is there a penalty?

A.  

Unless it is known or virtually certain that the player did not cause his ball to move, the player incurs a one stroke penalty under Rule 18-2b for his ball in play moving after he addressed it. If it is known or virtually certain that the player did not cause his ball to move, there is no penalty under Rule 18-2b.

There is no penalty for playing a moving ball in this case as the ball started to move after the player had begun the backward movement for the stroke and he completed the stroke. Since the player completed the stroke he does not need to replace the ball.



Note: This FAQ has been updated to reflect the 2012 Rules of Golf.


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Ball be struck at with the head of the club
Rule 14-1 requires that the ball be struck at with the head of the club.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Club inadvertently hits his ball twice
On this chip shot, T.C. Chen's club inadvertently, but clearly hits his ball twice during the final round of the 1985 U.S. Open.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth