Rules FAQ


Rule 14-4

Ball Struck More than Once

Q.  While chipping from off the green, Larry strikes the ball once, and then strikes it a second time on his follow through. What is the ruling?

A.  Larry has made a stroke and must add one penalty stroke to his score. The answer is the same regardless of how many times Larry struck the ball.


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Ball be struck at with the head of the club
Rule 14-1 requires that the ball be struck at with the head of the club.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Club inadvertently hits his ball twice
On this chip shot, T.C. Chen's club inadvertently, but clearly hits his ball twice during the final round of the 1985 U.S. Open.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth