Rules FAQ


Rule 14-2

Standing on Extension of Line of Play or Line of Putt

Q.  My opponent or fellow-competitor always stands behind me while I am playing a stroke? Isn`t this a penalty?

A.  Rule 14-2b only prohibits a player from allowing his partner or their caddies from standing in this position. While it may be a breach of Etiquette, there is no penalty under the Rules. A solution is to politely ask your opponent or fellow-competitor to move to one side or the other. (Rule 14-2b)


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Ball be struck at with the head of the club
Rule 14-1 requires that the ball be struck at with the head of the club.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Club inadvertently hits his ball twice
On this chip shot, T.C. Chen's club inadvertently, but clearly hits his ball twice during the final round of the 1985 U.S. Open.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth