Rules FAQ


Rule 13-4

Raking Bunker After Stroke - Ball Still in Bunker

Q.  A player`s ball is in a bunker (at Point A) that runs approximately 20 yards along the left side of the fairway. He plays a stroke and the ball advances about 10 yards towards the hole and remains in the bunker (at Point B).

May he rake the bunker at Point A before playing his stroke at Point B?

A.  Yes, the player may smooth the bunker at Point A as doing so would not improve the lie of his ball, his line of play, or his area of intended stance or swing for his next stroke (at Point B) -- Exception 2 to Rule 13-4 and Decision 13-4/36.

Note: This FAQ has been updated to reflect the 2012 Rules of Golf.


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

View Video
View Video

RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth

RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth

RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth

RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth