Q. While searching for her ball believed to be covered by loose impediments in a hazard, Heather moved some twigs and leaves. What is the ruling?
Under Rule 12-1, Heather may move twigs or leaves while searching for her ball, but if the ball moves in the process she is penalized one stroke under rule 18-2a and must replace her ball. She must replace any twigs, leaves or other loose impediments moved. There is no penalty if the ball moves while she is replacing the loose impediments moved while searching, but the ball must be replaced.
|Note: This FAQ has been updated to reflect the 2012 Rules of Golf.|