Rules FAQ


Rule 11-4

Playing from Outside the Teeing Ground

Q.  In stroke play, Laura played from in front of the tee markers on the 5th hole. She realized her mistake when she reached the putting green. How must Laura proceed?

A.  Laura incurs a penalty of two strokes and must correct her mistake before playing a stroke from the 6th teeing ground. Upon correcting her mistake, she will be playing her 3rd stroke from the teeing ground. If she does not correct her mistake by playing a ball from within the teeing ground, she will be disqualified.