Rules FAQ


Rule 10

Continuous Putting

Q.  Are you entitled to "finish out" the hole if you have played and only have a tap in left? What is the penalty if you finish out of turn?

A.  The answer is provided in Rule 10-1c for match play and Rule 10-2c for stroke play.

There is no penalty in either form of play if a player plays out of turn.

However, when a player has played out of turn in match play, the opponent may immediately recall the stroke played and require the player to play in the correct order.

Additionally, in stroke play only, a player who is required to lift a ball under Rule 22, may play first rather than lift. This is the practice often seen used by the professionals which leads to the general misunderstanding that a "continuous putting" rule exists.