Rules FAQ


Rule 7-2

Practice Between Holes

Q.  During the stipulated round, is it permissible to practice putting or chipping between the play of two holes?

A.  Yes. Between the play of two holes, the player may practice putting or chipping on or near the putting green of the hole last played, any practice putting green or the teeing ground of the next hole to be played in the round, provided such practice is not from a hazard (water hazard or bunker) and does not unduly delay play. (Rule 7-2) However, be careful, sometimes the Committee may prohibit this practice as a Condition of the Competition (Note 2 to Rule 7-2).