Rules FAQ

Rule 19

Ball Deflected or Stopped by Golf Cart Shared by Two Players

Q. What is the ruling when a ball in motion is deflected or stopped by a golf cart that is shared by two players?

A. Please refer to Decision 19/1 which provides the answer to this question.

Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video

Company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open

Bob Murphy’s ball had company in this bunker during the first round of the 2003 U.S. Senior Open… belonging to his fellow competitor, Hubert Green. Green’s ball struck and moved Murphy’s ball then came to rest on the spot where Murphy’s ball had originally been located.

Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video

Natural objects

Payne Stewart’s chip shot at the 1991 PGA Championship was deflected by a leaf on the putting green and found its way into the hole. Natural objects – and that includes leaves – are loose impediments. However, this leaf also has the status of an “outside agency.”

Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video

Tee shot hops over the green

On the Par 3 12th hole of the final round at the 2003 “AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am,” Davis Love’s tee shot hopped over the green… but he got a lucky break when the ball found a photographer’s leg.