Q. In playing the 7th hole, Tom`s tee shot comes to rest in a creek running parallel to the hole. The creek is not marked. He can not proceed under option b in Rule 26-1 as it is not feasible to drop the ball behind the creek. Must Tom replay his tee shot?
A. No. The Committee has erred in properly marking the course. As the creek meets the Definition of a "Lateral Water Hazard," he may proceed under Rule 26-1c. Rule 33-2 requires that the Committee accurately define the bounds and margins of the course. This includes all out of bounds, water hazards and lateral water hazards, ground under repair, and obstructions and integral parts of the course.