Rules FAQ


Rule 27-2

Provisional Ball Played for Ball that may be in Water Hazard

Q.  Kim`s ball is played and goes towards a water hazard. She elects to play a provisional ball in case the ball is in the water hazard. What is the ruling?

A.  A player may not play a provisional ball for the sole purpose of the original ball being in a water hazard. The second ball Kim played from the teeing ground is the ball in play under penalty of one stroke. Kim must play her fourth stroke with the second ball. (See Decision 27-2a/2)


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Provisional Balls
Learn when you can play a provisional ball and when you must abandon it.
View Video
Video
Ball Lost or Out of bounds
What do do when you ball is lost or out of bounds
View Video
Video
Tee shots into a ravine
On the third playoff hole at the 2001 Buick Invitational, Phil Mickelson and Frank Lickliter both drove their tee shots into a ravine.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Landed in a tree
During the 3rd round of the 1987 US Open, Tommy Nakajima’s approach shot on the final hole landed in a tree, short of the green. A volunteer helped him search for the ball, but to no avail.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth