Rules FAQ


Rule 4-3

Club Broken After Slammed in Anger

Q.  A player breaks the head off his club as a result of slamming it on the ground in anger, throwing it, or intentionally striking something (e.g. a tree) other than during a stroke, practice stroke, or practice swing.

May the player replace the damaged club before the completion of the stipulated round?

A.  No. As the club was damaged other than in the normal course of play, it may not be replaced during the round. See also Decision 4-3/1, Decision 4-3/7 and Decision 4-3/9.


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Carrying 15 clubs
At the 2001 British Open, final round co-leader Ian Woosnam's frustration bubbled over on the second tee when he discovered he was carrying 15 clubs when only allowed 14.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth